Hi Future PM! Here Are My Tips For Becoming a Product Manager

I’ve always been hesitant to share tips like these because I know everyone’s path to PM is different. Regardless, if you ask me in a DM on Twitter or LinkedIn, this is what I will point you to. This is what I’ve got. Take it or leave it. No matter what, I sincerely wish you the best on your journey!

Jordan Lamborn
5 min readApr 10, 2022
Morguefile

First, learn about product management from as many different product people as you can

Ask yourself why you want to be a product manager

If you are reading this, you are much further in your understanding than when I first started pursuing product management. I knew I would be good at it. I knew I would enjoy it. I did not know precisely why. Eventually, for me, being a Product Manager became about helping people with problems that matter.

Get a Medium subscription and read

I have started saying, for product managers or aspiring PMs, a Medium subscription is the best $5 you can spend. Get a Medium subscription if you are serious about

--

--

Jordan Lamborn

Product Manager @ Slice. Curious. Learning, read/write on product management. ex-Expedia. Product School. PSPO I. https://www.linkedin.com/in/jordanlamborn/